How to Reset your MacBook Pro

Your Mac slowing down? Here is how to reset your MacBook Pro

0
96

Unlike Windows-powered laptops out there, Apple MacBook does not tend to slow down after a certain period of time. However, they do slow down as there are some problematic apps or software problems. If you have recently noticed that your MacBook Pro has slowed down in operation, it’s time for a refresh.

In reality, there are some workarounds for fixing a slow MacBook Pro, but keep in mind that not all of them are safe as you could end up losing your data. With that in mind, we recommend you reset your laptop first to see if the problem is dealt with.

The process of resetting a MacBook Pro takes some steps and a wrong turn may erase your data. In the section below, we will show you how to reset a MacBook Pro properly.

Unlink your Apple ID

Apple ID is a crucial part of macOS and grants you access to all Apple services. Resetting a Mac may not work if your laptop is still linked to your current Apple ID. We recommend you unlink your Mac from your Apple ID.

To do this, open System Preferences, then select iCloud and click Sign Out. You can also erase local copies of your data on your Mac, as they are backed up to Apple’s servers.

Alternatively, you can unlink your Apple ID using Safari. To do this, head over to iCloud.com, then sign in with your Apple ID and select Find My iPhone. From here, select your MacBook Pro and choose “Remove from Account.”

Back up Your Data

Resetting a Mac is a risky move, so we recommend you create a backup of your Mac before moving ahead. You can back up your Mac using Time Machine, which is safe and sound.

To do this, you first need to connect an external drive to your Mac and click Use as Backup Disk (make sure you select Encrypt Backup Disk ). Once you select your backup disk, Time Machine will perform a backup of your Mac.

Once Time Machine finishes backing up your device, shut down your MacBook Pro and then press and hold down the keys: Cmd + Alt + R until you see the “Starting Internet Recovery” screen. This step is to load the recovery tools from Apple’s servers. Once it’s been loaded, click Disk Utility and hit Continue. From here, you should see your Mac’s hard drive on the left side.

Click the hard drive and choose Erase (make sure the Format is set to macOS Extended (Journaled). Once everything is ready, erase your Mac’s hard drive.

Reinstall macOS

Once your Mac’s hard drive has been wiped, go back to the main screen of Recover Area and connect to a Wi-Fi network. Your Mac will then download a recovery system image from Apple’s servers and boot up from it, granting you access to the recovery tools. After that, select Reinstall macOS and click Continue. This will begin re-installing the original macOS version that was factory-preloaded on your mac. Now simply follow the on-screen instructions to complete the setup.

Once macOS has been installed on your device, you need to set up the whole thing from scratch. We recommend you first update your Mac before doing anything.

Resetting a Mac is pretty common when it comes to fixing a frozen MacBook Pro. This approach gives your Mac a refresh, but we recommend you create a backup of your Mac in case something goes wrong, which could end up being worse for your laptop.

Got any questions? Let us know in the comments below.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here